top of page
Search
  • The ESL Educator

Fun Valentine's Day Ideas for the ESL Classroom


Are you preparing your ESL lessons and looking for fun ideas to do for Valentine's Day? I've come up with way to many things for this day of love already - I can't actually do them all, because it's just one day after all - and I thought I would share all of them with you so that you can see if there's anything you'd like to use!


Valentine's Day Writing Activity

I love getting my students to write argumentative pieces, and for this activity they must argue why they love the people and things in their lives! When you print and fold the pages down on themselves, they become a booklet! I also made a digital version, which I will be forced to use myself, since we are still virtual. Check this resource out HERE.


Valentine's Day Speaking Activity

Besides writing, I am the biggest fan of speaking the English language! I love getting my students to talk about things, and talking about what they love is a great topic! Get them to talk about their friends, their family, their home, and their hobbies: Why do they love these so much? I bet they can learn a lot from each other! For this purpose, I have created a set of 12 discussion cards that are easily printed and distributed among small groups. Check out this resource HERE.


Valentine's Day Listening and Reading

I felt like my students were a little low on listening and reading skills practice lately, so I decided to find them lots of cool videos and online articles to read about the origin of Valentine's Day and other history surrounding it. You can find a lot if you just google "Valentine's Day history". I bundled what I found in a choice board with 6 options to choose from. Check that choice board out HERE.


Valentine's Day Games

Don't have time to cover Valentine's Day at all, because there's no room in your curriculum? Well, maybe you have time for a short game instead? As I said, I don't know what I'll have time for, but I'll definitely try to fit in some digital memory! (That's all I have digitally..) Should you have time and the in-person teaching situation that I don't have, give this dominoes game, and this printable memory game a chance!


I hope I've inspired you to do something fun for Valentine's Day in your ESL lessons! Let me know if you have any questions! :)

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page