top of page
Search
  • The ESL Educator

Choice Boards: Why and How


If you don’t know the pleasure of using choice boards you are missing out! Choice boards are a great way to give your students autonomy over their own learning and the power to pick and choose their tasks, and an easy setup for different types of tasks. Let me tell you why I think choice boards are awesome, and how you can make them easily yourself.


Choice boards give options

Essentially, a choice board is a menu of options to choose from. When I make mine, I always aim for 9 options for my students to choose from. The options usually include two or three reading tasks in which I refer them to online texts; two or three listening tasks in which I refer to videos; two writing tasks; one vocabulary task for which I usually use Kahoot; and one task for which they must analyze the info from an infographic. My students must always choose 4 or 5 of the tasks out of 9, but you can have them choose fewer or more. The point is for them to choose whatever the like best.


Choice boards help you bundle smaller tasks into one

If there’s lots of small texts or short videos you want your students to read or watch about a topic, but individually they are too small to fill a lesson, a choice board will give you a chance to put all of those sources in front of your students in a lesson-filling way. Your students will soak up lots of info at a time this way.

Choice boards cater to different levels of proficiency

Students may pick a task according to their level of proficiency in the language. You can have students pick a task they normally have trouble with. For example, if they struggle with reading comprehension, get them to practice this skill. Or you can have them pick a task that aligns with their proficiency. For instance, a student may want to pick an easy task instead of a hard one if they are less proficient, or the other way around with a challenging task.


Choice boards are time fillers for when you’re tired

Let’s face it, sometimes we just don’t have the inspiration or even time to come up with a wonderful lesson. Choice boards are great for times like these, because you can just put them in front of students, and it’ll keep them busy for an entire lesson! You have to make them in advance, of course, but that’s not hard. I’ll tell you the steps below!


How to make choice boards!

I love to use QR codes for my choice boards. That way, I can print a sheet for each student, and students can then independently scan the codes to get to the sources to complete the tasks. Here are the steps I take:

  1. Create a choice board sheet in your worksheet-making program of choice (Word?).

  2. Find your source: a text, a video, or a vocabulary quiz online.

  3. Copy the link.

  4. Go to goqr.me and input the link into the URL option.

  5. Download the PNG of the QR code.

  6. Insert it into the sheet you’ll provide to your students.

  7. Add a task to the sheet so students will know what to do.

  8. Think of 8 more tasks, either with sources and QR codes or without, to fill the sheet.


And voila: your choice board is ready to go! Definitely try it some time, because it’s so much fun!


If you want to try some of mine, I've got four of them up in my store! Check them out here:


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page