top of page
Search
  • The ESL Educator

Fun Thanksgiving Ideas for the ESL Classroom

Updated: Nov 9, 2020


Thanksgiving is near! On the 26th of November, Americans celebrate Thanksgiving (Canada already did so on October 12..) and it's fun to teach your students about this tradition! How, do you ask? Well, I have a few ideas:


  1. Thanksgiving is all about giving thanks! Americans ask themselves what they are thankful for in their lives. It's a great opportunity to ask students what they are thankful for themselves! I plan on getting them to talk as well as write about this! I'll ask them what person, place, game, food, etc. they are thankful for. I use my Writing Prompts and my Discussion Cards for this purpose.

  2. I get students to find out what Thanksgiving is all about! I use QR codes to take them to the websites I want them to use, and get them to research where Thanksgiving comes from, what traditions there are now, and what Black Friday is. I use my QR Code Task Cards for this!

  3. My students will learn lots of new words for Thanksgiving things and I love to use games to practice words. I love me some Dominoes, Memory, and Dobble!

  4. Another way to revise and practice Thanksgiving vocabulary is to use word searches and crosswords puzzles. I've made my Word Search digital as well, so it's even more engaging, and Ioved making a Crossword Puzzle with picture clues. Keeps them busy for a bit :-)

  5. And then for some cutting and pasting! I love putting my matching worksheet in the mix. It's another fun way to get them to practice the Thanksgiving words. I'm also trying it as a digital drag and drop activity, although it will probably take them 2 seconds to do it..

So there you go! I hope you got inspired by this post and will create some cool lessons around the subject of Thanksgiving, or use some of mine!



39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page