top of page
Search
  • The ESL Educator

7 Cool Websites for Reading Practice

I love for my students to read books, and I let them do this often, but I also enjoy giving them other types of texts. The following websites have been amazing additions to my lessons:

Learn English Teens, by the British Council lets you choose first the skill you want to practice (Reading) and then the CEFR level of your students. With every text, they include a preparation exercise with vocabulary, comprehension exercises, and a discussion question. It has lots of no-prep material for all your students!


ReadWorks has teachers create their own classes, and when you've added your students you can assign them texts to read an exercises to complete with those. You can select any level you deem appropriate, per group or per student, and you can choose from a variety of topics. I've also had my student select topics and they loved it!


One Stop English has a huge number of resources available for English teachers! I personally enjoy their news lessons immensely, as they are about current affairs and they include comprehension questions as well.


I love Breaking News English for the same reason I love One Stop English: their texts about current affairs! It's so good for students to stay up to date with what is going on in the world while also practicing their reading skills! This website contains texts at 7 different levels, and a single text usually will have 4 different options. So great for differentiation as well!


National Geographic is super good at teaching kids stuff, in all kinds of interactive ways: they have quizzes, videos, games, you name it. And they also have articles about all sorts of topics. I love teaching my students about the culture of English-speaking countries, and they greatly enjoy reading the articles on this website! Check out this fun game to see for yourself.


Other than information about its shows, the History website also contains lots of articles about history topics. It's most suitable for older students, but there's a wealth for them to discover here! (I'm a history buff, so.. :-) )


My last recommendation is GoodReads. This is a website to keep track of what books you have read, but also where other people do this exact thing. I've found it super helpful for students to find a book they are interested in and reading reviews to see if they are the right choice. Or for them to find new book recommendations. A website for books is awesome, in my book ;-)


I hope you will check out these websites (click on the logos) and that you have found this post helpful! Let me know if you have any questions!

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page