top of page
Search
  • The ESL Educator

5 Topics to Cover in your February ESL Lessons


Are you wondering what topics are fun to cover in your February ESL Lessons? Let me guide you, because I have my February lessons planned out already! Here's a variety of things you may want to do:


Black History Month

When I say planned out, I mean still looking into the best way to go about it, because it's such an important topic, and I want to convey it to my students the right way. Black History Month is intended to recognize the contribution and achievements of those with African or Caribbean heritage. It's also an opportunity for people to learn more about the effects of racism and how to challenge negative stereotypes. The event gives everyone the opportunity to share, celebrate and understand the impact of black heritage and culture. I like this article as a first read for both teachers and students, but I'm looking for more good resources to use in my lessons.


Valentine's Day

I love taking the opportunity of Valentine's Day to talk and write about what we love and why! I get my students to write kind messages to each other and to their parents, and I encourage them to really explain what it is in them that they love. I'll also play some games, like dominoes and memory, and I'll some discussion cards to generate conversations. Find all my Valentine's Day resources HERE.


President's Day

Although this holiday is based around George Washington’s actual birthday, President’s Day honors all persons who have served as president in the United States, not just Washington. Teach students about its history, monuments, and notable figures. This holiday is celebrated on the 15th of February in 2021. You could have students do research into the US presidents using these National Geographic sources.


Groundhog Day

Groundhog Day is a popular North American tradition observed in the United States and Canada on February 2. It derives from the Pennsylvania Dutch superstition that if a groundhog emerging from its burrow on this day sees its shadow due to clear weather, it will retreat to its den and winter will persist for six more weeks; but if it does not see its shadow because of cloudiness, spring will arrive early.


Chinese New Year

I mentioned Chinese New Year in my January lessons post, but it's actually celebrated on the 12th of February in 2021. Chinese New Year is the festival that celebrates the beginning of a new year on the traditional Chinese calendar. In Chinese culture and East Asian countries, the festival is commonly referred to as the Spring Festival.


I hope I inspired you to teach about some fun topics in February. If you have any questions let me know!


27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page